

NEWS

The 2009 V-Twin Expo Awards

ONCE again February's V-Twin Expo in Cincinnati played host to the industry's annual award ceremony - the 'Excellence in Motorcycling' awards. As in previous years Easyriders' Editor-in-Chief Dave Nichols was the Master of Ceremonies as innovators, designers and others, who have made a positive contribution to the market over the past year, were rewarded for their work.

The evening began with the Motor of the Year being presented to S&S Cycle for the second year running. Following last year's win, with the X-Wedge, the company took the honors this year with its newly launched KN-Series motor

Next to the stage was V-Twin Manufacturing, the recipient of the Frame Designer of the Year trophy. Following that was the award of Wheel Designer of the Year to RC Components

In recognition of his constant development of transmissions, the Tech Product of the Year award went to Bert Baker for his newly developed Baker Direct Drive seven-speed transmission.

The public appreciation and subsequent volume sales of the Flare windshield by Klock Werks was recognized in the award of the Accessory of the Year at the awards ceremony, which was accepted by Brian



Denis Manning of 8UB Enterprises was the 2009 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement award

and Laura Klock.

Another business that is no stranger to receiving honors at the V-Twin Awards is Zioper's Performance Products, just as It did in 2006, the company once again took the Performance Product of the Year, this time for its ThunderMax G2 closed-loop EFI controller.

Awarded in recognition of innovation in the industry, the Teresi Prize, introduced in 2008, was this year presented to Hoppe Industries after the company's Quadzilla detachable fairing had been judged to be the most innovative product of the year.

Having in the past been known for its kit blkes, Big Bear Choppers is now being recognized for its complete bikes with the award of the Custom Production Bike trophy for its Paradox model. At the other end of the bike market the Production Bobber of the Year was



collected by Brass Balls for its Classic Bobber

The Motor Company once again took to the stage as in previous years, this time for the award of Motorcycle Design of the Year, thanks to the redesigned 2009 FL Series powertrain and frame.

Big Dog Motorcycles was another manufacturer returning to the stage for a subsequent year. After collecting Bike of the Year in 2007 for the K-9, and again in 2008 with the Pitbull, company founder Sheldon Coleman took to the stade to accept the same award this year for Big Dog Wolf.

Heading up a company that spreads three generations of his family and has been in operation for nearly 40 years, there was little surprise at the Industry Leader of the Year award going to Arlen Ness. The presentation of his award follows on from the launch in 2008 of a Victory engined model in the Ness Motorcycles line-up.

Having a successful manufacturing business that continues to flourish in these tough economic times is reason enough for praise, but add to that organizing speed trials at Bonneville Salt Flats and running the fastest motorcycle at that event are the reasons why Denis Manning of BUB Enterprises took to the stage to a standing ovation to collect a

Lifetime Achievement award.

The evening's awards were brought to a close with the surprise presentation

THE 2009 V-TWIN EXPO EXCELLENCE IN MOTORCYCLING AWARD WINNERS

S&S Cycle - KN Motor

V-Twin MFG

RC Components

Baker Direct Drive 7-Speed Transmission

Klock Werks - Flare Windshield

Zipper's Performance Products -ThunderMax G2 Closed-Loop EFI Controller

Hoppe Industries' Quadzilla **Detachable Fairing**

2009 BIKE WINNERS

Big Bear Choppers – Paradox Harley-Davidson **FLSTSB Cross Bones** Brass Balls - Classic Bobber Harley-Davidson FL Series **Powertrain and Frame Big Dog - Wolf** Arlen Ness - Arlen Ness Enterprises

Denis Manning – BUB Enterprises

of a custom Bobber to photographer Michael Lichter in recognition of the work he has done for Easyriders magazine. The bike was built with contributions from Sucker Punch Sallys, Dave Perewitz, Duane Ballard, DNA, Custom Chrome, Gard Hollinger and Baker Drivetrain.